It’s like a bar…in your mouth!!

Let me start by saying that this is probably one of the
most impromptu, no recipe-meal that I’ve ever made. It was quite
great and took no time at all, best part… IT’S HEALTHY!!!! After
picking up RF blue cheese crumbles and buffalo sauce, I knew
something spectacular would come out of it… I was going to make a
meatloaf but after realizing I couldn’t find my pan, (AHAAA) mini
meatballs.

Going
into the oven.....

So I
didn’t know how I would like blue cheese so I did half of my
meatballs without them. 😉 Pure amazingness came out…

My little
buffalo nuggets

If you
look closely you can see the top half have no cheese but the bottom
is ooey-gooey.

All crispy and hot

While
these were baking, I got hit with another inspiration, steak fries
(WooHoo!) Since I had a sweet potato sitting around I sliced it up
and tossed it in a little EVOO and salt n’ peppa’. On to the baking
sheet you go.

Sweet Potato Baked Steak Fries!!!!

Fresh
out the Oven

Once
again this was also PDQ (pretty darn quick!!) While these were
baking and the meatballs were cooking, I threw some seasoned fresh
broccoli and broccolini into a steam bag and popped them in the
microwave.

It's gettin' hot in
here!!

FYI- if
you have never tried the ziploc steam bags, they are amazing and
they make cleanup a breeze. Actually, I use them to store any
leftover veggies as well. So all together my meal ended up like
this.

Only
some of my taters made it to the plate

The fries
were soo good, that most of them were gone before I could get my
camera out. And my plate was so full of veggies that I had no room
for my buffalo chicken meatballs, no matter they still made it to
my mouth LOL. Total cooking time was a little more than 40 minutes.
The key was to over lap my baking with prepping.

Buffalo Chicken
Meatballs

  • one celery
    stalk (finely grated or chopped)
  • one carrot
    (finely grated or chopped)
  • about 1/4 c.
    Frank’s Red Hot buffalo sauce
  • 3/4c whole wheat
    panko break crumbs
  • one egg white
  • salt n’ peppa
  • 1 tbs each of garlic
    and onion powder
  • 1 package (~1lb) ground lean
    chicken breast
  • 1/3 c. blue cheese crumbles,
    optional (reduced fat)

Preheat oven to 400
degrees. In a bowl combine all of listed ingredients. If you choose
to add the blue cheese, add it last to prevent squishing it. Form
golf ball sized balls and place on a non-stick baking surface. I
had about 20, but mine were small. Bake between 15-18 minutes. I
split one open to make sure it was done, at minute 16 and it was
perfect. I grabbed some calorie free blue cheese dressing and mixed
a drop or two of buffalo sauce in it and got to dunkin’…
definitely like a bar in you mouth!! (can you say football game
snack!?! because I can) I have so many left overs, I see a
veggie/chicken bowl in my future…. time to watch a little of the
boob tube before turning in before the start of my work weekend…..
😦

This entry was posted in Recipe and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

