Pumpkin Enchiladas and Sweat

Ms. Sicky (aka ME) is all better!! Phew that infection took a lot out of me!! Anyhow, let’s jump right back into life.

Yesterday

The last few days have been nothing but work work work 😦 But last night I had a pretty good dinner. While I did like it, next time I’ll tweek it a little 😉 Using a recipe I saw on Julie’s blog, I made Pumpkin Enchiladas!!

Pumpkin Enchiladas and Wild Rice

Yes I know, it sounds weird (I got tons of funny looks from people when I told them what I was making for dinner) but seriously, don’t knock it until you try it.

Mmm Mmm smells muy delicioso

Look, I'm laying down, can I have some now??

Apparently, someone else thought it smelled so good, he could do a few tricks and receive some…he was sadly mistaken LOL

So when I made the enchilada’s, I diverted from the recipe (I don’t like onions or cilantro eeewww), but thats what gave the filling some substance. My lil’ enchiladas were nothing but sauce and beans (but I like sauce and beans haha). To make this meal an actual meal, I added some of this

Easy Peezy Rice!!!

I love Uncle Ben’s microwavable rice!! They’re super easy for rice pudding/ chicken bowls/ anything you can think that you would add rice to. Plus for a person that lives by themselves, there’s no mess and its quick and I just store it in the bag I made it in. I tend to use the brown rice and wild rice medleys (they are healthier for you!!!). But I digress…..

….to keep with my “Veg Mex” cuisine I added a cup of this

Yum Yum Sangria

OMG!!! While I hate red wine (yuck!), I love red and white sangrias (but I hate the calories). So whats a girl to do…. Low-Cal Sangrias! (or Sanfree-as!!, as my friends call it) It’s all the heart healthy benefits of red wine (SCORE!!) and as a bartender, I’ll put it against some of the best REAL Sangrias anywhere!!

*** I’m not posting my version of my pumpkin enchiladas just yet, I want to perfect this with things that I love while keeping it as low-cal as possible*** stay tuned though, I feel it will be making a comeback next week!!

Low-Cal Sangria

  • 3 single serve packs (6 total)of crystal light of both Sunrise Classic Orange and Peach Tea
  • One bottle of red wine (I prefer Merlot, it’s sweeter than Cabernet)
  • One Orange, cut into round slices
  • One Necterine, sliced
  • One Peach , sliced
  • 1/4 c. creme de casis
  • 1/4 c. blueberry vodka
  • A few splashes of Pomegranate liquor
  • A few splashes of pear vodka
  • ~ 2 c. water

Take the first 2 ingredients and put them into a pitcher. Stir until the powder is dissolved. Add the water a 1/2 cup at a time until you get a taste that you prefer. Mine took about 2. Stir. Add the cut fruit. Add the different vodkas and liquors and stir. Cover with plastic wrap and set in the refrigerator, until cold (if you’re like me and impatient add ice cubes and subtract some of the water, that way as it melts it’s not diluting the taste).If you like a bubblier taste splash some club soda in your glass, when you pour you’re serving.

If you couldn’t tell, I definitely made this recipe up on the fly, so feel free to add or subtract amounts as you see fit. If you don’t like it, take it out and replace it with something else, as long as you like it who the heck cares!!!

This Morning

Breakfast

I started out this morning with white chocolate peanut butter on some toasted whole wheat arnold thins.

Workout

I headed straight to the gym to workout. I worked with my trainer and did a calorie-blasting (light weight) 3 part circuit. It included lunges, squat jumps at different heights, and ball throws…needless to say after an hour I was oh so sweaty. After that, I jumped on the treadmill for some much needed cardio. While I enjoyed (I’m not being sarcastic!!) my 40 min. run/jog/climb session, I realized that my week and a half hiatus from the gym, combined with my sinus infection, has seriously zapped my endurance. 😦

Usually when I’m on a treadmill, my game plan is to run for as long as possible. As a dancer, I hate long runs as they tighten my hammies up to much, but I love sprints as they help my quads and they allow for a longer calorie burn long after you finish. So after running for about a little over a mile, my legs and my brain get bored, so I raise the incline to about 4.5 and alternate climbing/ sprinting for a mile.For the next mile I lower it and alternate mall-walking (also known as light jogging) and sprinting. So, I know you’re asking how long do I walk or sprint or climb or jog…ehh… I like to use a very scientific method called my ipod :-)I put my ipod on a playlist that I like and get to moving, when the song changes, so do I. Usually the tempo of the song determines what I do (slower tempo= walking, faster tempo = sprinting) I also put the playlists on random so that I don’t know whats next (that can be good or bad, 4 sprint songs in a row is killer !!!). Thats about it.

After, I came home to walk my little pup, who did not appreciate my love of fitness and stalled as many times as possible during out 1.5 mile walk.

I'm lookin', I'm lookin'

Walk and walk and walk, that's all she ever does!!

1.5 miles!!! Lady you've lost you're mind!!

He quickly passed out when we returned home.. and is now sleeping as I type my blog.

So one of my closest friends is a head sushi chef at a restaurant by my house (yeah I know you’re jealous, heck I would be)and I miss him. So me and my sushi buddy are about to run up there for dinner and possibly a little mini putt putt later (HaHa)….. So awesome sushi pics to come!! Peace, love and chicken grease (y’all remember that saying LOL).

This entry was posted in Bailey, Food, Recipe, Workout and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

